Made an accidental reply to your Boss or keyed in a wrong email-id while sending an email? Worry not. Google has rolled out a new feature in Gmail that lets you “Undo a Sent email”. A God-sent for many, this feature allows you to quickly track-back all those accidental emails sent with a simple click of a button. While this feature isn’t something that Google has developed recently with it being available in Gmail’s Lab Settings long-before since 2006, the public roll-out of this feature means a lot more adoption by the masses.
“Previously a popular feature in Gmail Labs, and recently added to Inbox by Gmail, today we’re adding ‘Undo Send’ as a formal setting in Gmail on the web. ‘Undo Send’ allows people using Gmail to cancel a sent mail if they have second thoughts immediately after sending. The feature is turned off by default for those not currently using the Labs version, and can be enabled from the General tab in Gmail settings”, Google said in a blogpost.
With finally this ‘Undo’ option being burried out of the beta, this feature is sure to help you avoid massive social embarrassment. In order to turn it on right away, following is the step-by-step tutorial of how you can Undo a sent email in Gmail account. Take a look!
Tutorial 1 : How to set-up ‘Undo’ sent email option.
Step 1 : Sign into your Gmail account and hit the ‘Gear‘ icon on the Right top corner and select ‘Settings‘.
Step 2 : Under the Settings menu, switch to ‘General‘ tab and navigate to ‘Undo Send‘ option.
Step 3 : Check the ‘Enable Undo Send‘ and set the timer according to your preference. You can toggle between 5, 10, 20 & 30 seconds timer wherein the time you select is the time for which you’ll be shown an option to “Undo” the sent email once you send some.
Step 4 : Save changes and you are good to go.
Tutorial 2 : How to use ‘Undo’ sent email option.
Step 1 : Sign into your Gmail account and hit ‘Compose‘ new email button.
Step 2 : Enter the email address(es), Subject and the Body of the email, as you would normally do to send an email.
Step 3 : Once done, you can hit the ‘Send‘ button. Wondering how to ‘Undo’ it now? Well, all you need to do is find the ‘Undo‘ button in the prompt stating ‘Your message has been sent’, that appears when an email has been successfully sent.
Step 4 : Once you click on ‘Undo’, you’ll be shown a prompt that ‘Sending has been undone‘ and you’ll be taken back to the compose window with your email being reverted back. Simple as that!
In love with this ‘Undo’ sent feature? So are we! Share your opinions and reactions. We’d love to hear it from you.!